A belated Introduction

When I began my blog back in April 2018 I didn’t think it would amount to much.

Most of my day revolves around sleep deprivation, trying to think up autism friendly snacks and meals, poo, wee, playing with my little pony and sighing heavily.

Not very news-worthy stuff.

I’m not very technical, I don’t have a background in advertising or any form of social media expertise aside from scrolling through Facebook. I didn’t even own a computer. Although I do now. Thanks Santa 🙂
I have huge self-esteem issues. I have a very negative outlook and think everyone else is better than me, more deserving and extremely competent. I am however trying to be a more positive person, resilient and hinged as I feel like I’ve spent the last five years of my life seriously unhinged, out of control and on autopilot.

On desperate nights and snatched moments in the day I have followed peoples blogs, mainly autism ones and they have really helped me to feel less alone and hopeful. On top of being an autism parent I have suffered with anxiety and depression since my teens. Not a good combination. I touch on this side of parenting too because it can make a difficult job seem impossible at times.

In the last year I have written over 20 posts predominantly on living with depression, self-doubt and anxiety whilst navigating parenting an autistic child. It has been quite a steep learning curve. Understatement. But, through writing it all down I have found it to be cathartic and have connected to lots of parents and other bloggers which has helped me feel better within myself. I have even learn how to do a bit of ‘stuff’ on social media.

I am a full time carer to my daughter but forever hopeful that I might find a very flexible part time position in the future. I am an 80’s child, broody for a puppy and love film and reading with a particular passion for psychology, horror and autobiography. I am sober curious, mindfulness curious and exercise curious and like to peek into these worlds occasionally.

Give me a Stephen King, a sun lounger and a low alcohol cocktail and I’m a happy soul.

Hi, I’m Becky by the way or ‘PDA bubble’.

cropped-black-unicorn

3 thoughts on “A belated Introduction

  1. Hi Becky Thanks for your intro and all your blogs I relate to everything you’ve said! Even puppy broody! Or except the horror!

    Although my 8 year old Pda daughter loves Halloween (the dark side not the cutsey side) and loves baldy computer game (she watches people play it on you tube). She had an angry panda cake for her birthday and hates anything princess or pastels!!! A lot of her role play games have a deep psychology element to it, playing out relationship stuff and society expections that everyone should be a goody two shoes. She obvs is very kind and caring but rejects the demand to be so loves rebels!

    So if you know of any age appropriate you tubers of films you think might be appropriate let me know!

    Thanks again

    Claire

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment